Urgent!!!

A

amanda

I just bought a friend an axolotl for a x-mas present that she has wanted for years.

But just tonight she has started floating. So I read some other posts and you said to rub her tummy so I did that and she burped. And seemed fine.

But just now (fifteen minutes later) she is squirming around like she is in pain. And looks like she is trying to vomit or burp.

I think I should put her in the fridge for a little while because we live in Australia and this might be because of the heat here that might be giving her this reaction but my boyfriend thinks that this will just stress her out even more. At the moment there are no pebbles in the tank and there was none in the tank at the pet shop so i don't think she has swallowed any pebbles. Also I have noticed she hasn't eaten in three days...

I am just new to axolotls and I really hope she gets better before i give her to my friend.
Can anyone give me some advice
Very much appreciated

When they're new, they'll do weird things to get adjusted to their environment. It probably won't eat for a few days, and that's okay. What are you trying to feed?

Have you cycled the tank? If not, it would be highly advisable to do so, unless you have a very large tank for a very small axolotl. Read http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/cyclingEDK.shtml for a better idea on cycling.

Unless it's really hot, I would let the axolotl adjust to the tank before putting it in the fridge. But if it's really hot, then most definately the best place for it is in the fridge.

Axolotls will come up for air, and will yawn, and will burp, and will do lots of strange things. Have you read www.axolotl.org yet? This is a good place for beginners to start. It gives you lots of good information to start from.

Good luck!!

hi,
thanks for the reply.
Well, I finally convinced my boyfriend to let me put her in the fridge. And yeah it has been 40 degrees here almost every day in Australia.