Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Bob's Throwing Up???

S

sarah

Hello,

I was just wondering if anyone could tell me if it is okay or not okay that bob is throwing up his food?

Sarah

A

andrea

I had this once with one of mine (i'm new to axie keeping) and i searched the posts here and the majority said that it is due to overfeeding. There are lots of posts about it so i cut back on feeding to every other day.

Hope that helps

S

sarah

Thanks for that. Ive only had Bob for four days now, I just want to make sure that he is OK. Ill cut back the amount for sure.

Sarah
44109.jpg

J

joan

Bolus looks like... mucus-encased poo. Or food covered in mucus. How much are you feeding Bob?

C

cynthia

Sarah - Since you have only had him 4 days it could be several things.

He may have rocks in his gut, it could be the change in food, it could be what he was fed before you got him, and he could be trying to eating more than he can handle.

Mammal meat is hard for axolotls to digest if you are feeding mammal meat I would advise to stop and switch to a variety of foods like earth worms, soft salmon or trout pellets, axolotl pellets, crickets, fresh fish fillet slivers ect.

S

sarah

Ok. I am feeding him beef heart (the aquarium shop recommended??) do my rocks in the picture look to small? He does not seem to eat them and they are the same rocks as in the pet shop. He (well I dont know if he is a he for sure yet) only seems to eat if i put it in front of him (on that, do you know any website where you can buy long plastic tweezers, cant find any in OZ)
Im thinking he is eating too much then. I will cut back to three days (vice two and only half???)
Awaiting your reply

Fanx

Sarah