Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Red blotches on clear end of tail

S

suli

Hi all! I am a novice to the world of axolotls. I have had Charlie my brown axolotl for only two and a half weeks now. He freaked out for the first couple of days swimming frantically around the tank, but he was eatting - feeder fish - which I have since read bad things about in other threads on this forum!
About a week after his introduction into the tank he refused to eat. I tried giving him pellets, blood worms and lean beef heart but nothing interested him. He looked a little bloated and sluggish, I thought that he may have eatten some gravel. Then after the tank was accidentally knocked he vomited. I did a water change and he seemed to perk up a bit.
But he now hasn't eatten for 7 days. And a couple of days ago I noticed little red spots in the clear tip of his tail. Yesterday they appeared to have grown. As I was worried I searched the internet for a solution and found a mention of "red leg disease" (I have forgotten the correct terminology). I was very worried so I got Mum to ring a couple of pet shops this morning whilst I was at work. They told her to take him into the shop in a bucket. Which she did but in the process the red spots on his tail burst or got cut I guess, and she discovered all blood in the water. She mentioned the abovementioned disease but at two pet shops they said they didn't think that was it. One thought he had just injured his tail and got blood clots in it and when it got knocked they burst. He gave us Melafix to put in the water for a few days to combat disease and help wound treatment & stop the bleeding.