Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Some questions about sand

A

aimee

Hi everyone. I was wondering what your guys' opinions were on different substrates. Currently I am using large pond pebbles, which seem to be working out okay. But i was wondering if sand would be better? I've never used sand before so I'm not too sure how one should go about to maintain it. After cleaning it and putting it in the tank, does it stay clean-looking for a while? And when it does start to look dirty, do you have to take most of it out and reclean it or is there a way to clean the sand without having to take it out now and then? I'm guessing you can't use a siphon to take out food matter and debris...

Like I said, the pond pebble seems to do the job and Slider seems content with it. But I really like the look of sand and it seems that a lot of you guys have it. So I was just wondering what the pros and cons were.

R

rheann

If your pebbles are big enough that the Axolotls can't swallow it, then it would be fine to leave it the way it is since it would have good bacteria stored up in it which is important in an aquarium ecosystem.
happy.gif