Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Slugs

L

leah

I've captured a couple slugs from the garden, hoping that they'll start laying eggs. Just wondering if anyone has ever used these as food before? Is there any reason I shouldn't?

pollywog

Reaction score
Some slugs taste nasty so it all depends on what type they are. I have used some small black slugs with orange undersides (Arion hortensis) that I collected from my garden and my Ambystoma maculatum love them.

H

heather

Sorry Leah, I really dont know about the slugs, I have never tried it with my axols before.

L

leah

From the pictures I've found online, mine look most like the great grey garden slug. I couldn't find anything that said they were poisonous, so I'm hoping they're safe. I guess the axies will let me know if they're tasty or not!

J

jenny

when ive used slugs before the axies tend to get some kind of mushy gunk around their mouths that sticks their for a while. im sure its ok though. i think also depends on size of slug cos if its big then they have to proper suck it for a bit

M

mik

I hate slugs. Can't bear the horrid things. I think Jennies the only one here who has tried them. Perhaps she can tell us a bit mor about feeding the nasties to the axies and how they fare on them.

J

john

The small grey slugs seem to be the most palatable actually. I had a pyxie frog that would eat the huge brown ones (you know, those slugs that seem to be as long as your arm). He'd snort mucus for hours afterwards but he ate them, no problem.

L

leah

I'm still doing a bit of reading on these before I feed them.