Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Gravel/Bare floor

S

suvanna

Hi. I'm a bit new to axies but i know that gravel isn't good for my axie but I have half gravel half bare for my tank and when at the bare floor he seems to struggle when walking to the other side of the tank.
What should I do? my parents keep telling me to put the gravel back in the tank but I don't want to and I can't get any sand either because well... my parents won't let me and so I don't know what to do.
Anyway this is the size of my gravel.

67678.jpg

67679.jpg

S

sarah

some bits are too small and could be dangerous from what i can see in the pics.
Dont worry i have a bare floor in my tank and they did at first struggle a bit, but they eventualy learn how to get around on the bare floor. mine walk properly now, it took a few weeks but they learnt. plus all the poop is easy to pick up now and feeding them, cos if they drop something they can spot it straight away.
I dont even run a filter, i do a 10% water change every sat morning, and they r fine.

J

joan

Suvanna, have your parents seen this forum? They may feel a little differently if they know that the gravel can kill them.

I keep all my larvae in bare bottoms, until they're about 3 inches long. I used to keep all my tanks as bare bottom tanks. There's no problem in doing it.

S

suvanna

well, I'll try to remove the gravel as soon as possible.
and no they have not seen this forum but I don't think they will so I'm practically the only one looking after my axie and trying to keep it as healthy as possible although my dad does help me change the water.