Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

LFS Nightmares?

C

charles

Although I'm new to axies, I've already been round a number of local fish stores. I've found a couple that were clued up, some that were stupid as all hell, and one that I nearly tried to break the axie out of!

What have been the most disturbing ones you've visited?

andrew

Reaction score
I was in a petshop today and they had about 15 juvies in a 45cmx30cm tank.

None had arms or legs only nubs!

The axies also shared this tank with a heap of mistery snails which were buizy chowing down on the axies bloodworms.

J

jojo

awww that so terrible! I hate hearing stuff like that, let alone seeing it!
I would've either cried, or said something to one of the employees.
I know they would'nt do anything about it, but just so l had piece of mind that "i tried".

sad.gif

J

joan

At one mega-chain LFS, I saw various asian newts (C. orientalis, what looked like a warty newt of sorts), along with various asian frogs on a gravel with 1 plastic plant and 1 inch of water with a powerhead. One newt was plainly dead, the other terrified of the frogs and trying to escape. I asked if they were aware the one newt was dead. But of course, he "wasn't dead, just resting". Oh well.

Another shop that I find to be fairly reputable was keeping a LOT of P. waltl juveniles together. I explained to them that this species is pretty aggressive, and they nodded and yeah-yeah'ed me. I came back 3 days later, and noted two dead, dismembered waltls being chowed down on by their tankmates.

C

charles