Need tips

N

nina

im new to this forum(just started 2 day) my dad sed that i could get an axolotl if i studied about them.
i dont want to get a large tank and i only want 1 axolotl... for now. i need to know a good sized tank for one axolotl (but not so small i cant use a filter.)
i live in perth and i used to have a fish tank and some times the water temp would get up to 28c i need to know how to help keep it cool. ive been reading other 'convos' n they say that they keep their in the fridge!? my fridge temp is 5 c!

any help can help... i may have more Q's l8er

Thanks for the link
wink.gif

that web site helped about water cycling but i need some tips to keep my water temprature lower

I'm struggling with water temperature too.

Basically in order to keep the water cool, you need to keep the room cool. Put the tank in the coolest room in the house, preferably downstairs. Air conditioning the room down to 20 C would help.

Apparently you can use an ordinary fan blowing across the top of the water to keep it cool - but you have to be careful not to create a water current because Axies don't like that either. I haven't tried this so I can't speak about it's effectiveness.

You can buy an aquarium cooler - but in Australia I haven't been able to price one for less than $500 and that was on EBay.

I've also read on this site and maybe somewhere else about using plastic bottles full of ice. At the moment that is what I am doing. I fill three 600ml bottles about 80% full of water, freeze them and then use them one at a time to keep the temperature down. This way the temperature doesn't wildly fluctuate which of course will stress the Axie.

Apparently you can use larger bottles too, but larger bottles will make the temperature change more rapid.

It's very important that bottles are made of plastic and that when they full of ice or water that they float! You don't want them sinking on top of your axolotl.