Moving an axolotl?

A

ashuri

Any tips on how to move (just across town) with an axolotl? I was thinking about putting him in a small container with a lid, just for the car trip, but I don't know what to do with the tank. I don't think I could get it down four flights of stairs intact.

I was thinking about getting a new, bigger tank and eventually adding a new axolotl ... would now be a good time or would a new tank plus a move be too stressful? He did survive getting shipped to my house in a box, though, so maybe he's tough ...

He won't know he's moved if the tank is the same inside, so that wouldn't be stressful. With a new tank, it would still be just one new thing--he's not aware of your house or address, after all. I'm curious why you are hesitant to just break the elements down and either upgrade or just redo it all when you get there? I tried about 5 different setups (I'm new to this too) including big stones, smaller stones, various caves, sand, etc., before landing on the current configuration, which is a combination of slate (edges smoothed with aquarium sealant) and bare bottom. It's super easy for me and they seem to love it. I plan to change little elements now and then--rock placement, hideaway, etc. because they are always interested. As soon as I mess with something, they are over there checking it out --and not in a stressed way either.

You can maintain your biological filter by keeping your substrate and filter parts immersed in either fresh treated water or water from your tank until you are ready to use it.

If you are adding an axolotl, it is an old fish trick to take out the current occupant and vary the tank arrangement so it is new to everyone--the old occupants and the new arrival--this avoids territoriality. I successfully added my 2nd axy this way. But--when I tried a third, they both bit it, so they let me know the limit.

Good luck!!