Aquarium/feasibility questions

erin

Reaction score
Display Name
erinrobbins
I'm new to axolotls, and I'm looking at building an aquarium for one.

I'm in college, so I don't have space for a huge tank in my dorm, but a two to three foot long one shouldn't be that big of a deal. I'd like to not invest a ton of money in this, but I'm willing to spend enough to get it set up properly.

I have an idea of what kind of filtration I need - I'm thinking of cutting a tank, and using 1/2" or 3/4" inch pvc, two 12"-18" long pieces, one as an intake and the other as an outtake. Each would be alongside the side of the aquarium,with holes every 1" or so, tilted down towards the bottom of the tank. For the output, I'd angle it towards the back of the tank to decrease water disturbance. I was also thinking that plugging the end of both tubes with a piece of natural sponge, to dissipate the water, and prevent axolotl food from hiding in the tube. What kind of filter would I need for a setup like this? I'm assuming a canister filter - is it possible to find one of these fairly cheap and low-powered? Should I use a material besides pvc for the tubes? Would soft tubing be a better option?

Also, would a heavy-duty clear rubbermaid-type tub work for an axolotl? I keep guinea pigs in 12"x30" tubs, which gives them a bit of a running space. They tend to be cheaper than aquariums, and are a lot harder to break.