Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Please help me.

A

adam

Hello. i'll introduce my self first, My name's Adam and i'm new to this Axolotl buisness!! my fiancee has bought me one as a pressie because i've always wanted one. He's called Steve and he is the cutest thing in the world!

But i'm really really worried!!
We got the tank a week before steve went in, and based on what the pet shop have told us, we set the tank up.

We've got gravel as a subtrate, i'm using a Fluval filter that attaches to the inside of the tank, and i've got a couple of live plants in there too.

The pet shop told us to fill the tank and add Aquasafe and Easybalance, then leave the tank for a week for everything to settle in before going and buying an axie.

This is the bit i'm worried about!
He's eaten some gravel allready! i need to swop it for sand or large pebbles.

I hadn't even heard of cycling (other than with bikes!!) so that hassn't been done!!

So i need to swap subtrate and cycle my tank, but whats the best way to do this without upsetting steve?
Do i just need to start again and if so where does steve live while this is going on?

Please please please help me, i really don't want anything to happen to him, i would be heart broken!

C

cinnamon