Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

New Axie- Please help.

J

jess

I just got my axie yesturday from the petshop where i did my work experience. a friend ended up bringing it in as she couldnt care for it anymore.

Problem 1- how do i get it to eat? i tried droping in a meal worm and it just ignored it.

Problem 2- i have fish in the same tank. will they bother my new axie?

Problem 3- he just seems to be hiding near my filter. (ive yet to put in tunnels and what not for my fish and axie to hide in, im new to the aquariam thing).

71478.jpg

J

jess

also.

do i just need a filter in the tank or is there other things that should be in there to keep the water good?

A

anna

Answer one: It prolly wont eat for a week or so due to the stress of moving.

Answer Two: Fish will most likely bother the axie and try to eat its gills. Either that, or the axie will eat the fish, best to keep them separate.

Answer Three: He wont be very active at all but even less so during this stressful adjustment period.

Answer Four: Using dechlorinator is a definate must.

Additional: Have u cycled your tank? If not read:-
http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/cyclingEDK.shtml
Also a good idea to read:- www.axolotl.org

The pebbles arent a good idea as your axie will most likely ingest some which could cause a blockage and make him refuse food. It will also make him sick. Good ideas for substrate are: nothing, sand (pool sand or playsand are good as well as Tuscan Paths sand from Bunnings), pieces of slate, very large pebbles (like the river ones).