Urgent help please - swollen abdomen

S

stacey

I have recently (ie within the last week) purchased a tank & 4 mature axolotls, got home from work today and one of them has a grossly swollen abdomen. My question is, is it normal when the female is laying eggs for this to happen? Or is it likely to be something else? Please don't jump on me, I am new to axolotls so haven't experienced this in the past. Axolotl was normal this morning when I left for work. TIA

We have adult females and they look fattish/round stomach , so i don't know if the swollen abdomen is eggs or something else (Are you able to post a picture? - it might help). What substrate do you have in the tank (bare floor, sand, gravel or other)? Other thing is how often do you feed them?

Anyway, I hope you don't think I have jumped on you - just asking for clarification :D

And welcome to the forum. You'll find lots of help and advice here.

Hi, thanks for the reply, have uploaded a pic (sorry about the quality, was taken with my cellphone)

I have only had them four days and fed twice so far, have been using frozen bloodworms, axolotl pellets and "axolotl tucker" (mix of shrimp/beef/vegetables/cereal) from the local pet store. One in particular was keener to feed than the others but to be honest I can't really tell the difference between the three white ones yet so am not sure if this is the same one.

You can see the gravel they are on in the pic, I was not entirely happy with it but purchased an established tank which is what they have been used to. I intend to change the gravel to something larger after reading various posts about gravel consumption.

One of the females had laid eggs the day before I picked them up, so wondered if this could be what is happening this time.

66415.jpg

It is so easy to overfeed one, when they all look the same! I have done it once or twice; esp. when they move corners. The white ones/leucistics are easier for me, as they have different speckle variations.