Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Why is every1 putting their axies in the fridge?

S

samantha

Im new to keeping axolotls, so I dont really know much..(so forgive me for the dumb questions) Ive had mine for about 6mths, and they look happy, they have a new tank that im getting ready 4 them soon. But why do ppl put their axies in the fridge? should i put mine it the fridge? ?

S

samantha

its ok guys i just read about y axies go in the fridge... hehe told u it was a dumb question

E

emil

Maybe you have air-conditioning in your house, Samantha! I'm in Melbourne and I don't, and this summer has been really challenging. A few times I came home in the evening and found the temperature in the kitchen was 30 degrees so the temperature in the tank would have been getting up in the 20s. I think I need a bigger tank. I only have one axy but small tanks heat up too fast . I have had to put ice bricks in the tank quite a few times!

C

charlie

I have a 2 footer in sydney and I run it with ice bricks in the tank almost constantly.
I have 4 ice bricks which go in two at a time as well as a frozen bottle of water (always dechlorinate the water, and leave room for the ice to expand - you don't want a split bottle of chlorinated water in the tank melting) which I pretty much rotate to keep the temp down.

can't believe I'm looking forward to winter....

S

samantha

well im in perth and its 39 degrees here 2day,(no air con either) so iv been adding icebloks 2 my tank, like u do charlie and they do look more settled. it was 21 degrees in the tank b4 i put the ice in, and its lowered slowly, so thats gd.thanx 4 the idea!

I cant wait 4 winter either!

A

alex