Hey! New to axolotls

T

tamatha

So, I've been reading up on the parent website and decided hey, these are super cute and sound reasonable to care for. I've got fish so water chemistry and mechanics on equiptment are somewhat familiar, this is going to be fun. Then came the searching, and luckily the local pet store can special order them, so I placed an order for an albino and now just waiting remains.

So, a checklist I'd like some approval on:
20 gallon tank
Penguin 660 sponge filter w/adjustable flows
Live blood/tubifex worms and nightcrawlers
Dried shrimp pellets
Medium rounded river rocks/stones
Live plants
Swahala driftwood to hide under

Anything I might have forgotten?

Anyway, a little about me, I'm Tam and like many here I fell head over heels for this cute little amphibian. I've been caring for fish the past 3 years, mainly coldwater Goldfish and tropical bettas, but these are no easy task. Currently I have 3 Black Moors in a 55 gallon, a female betta community and various divided male tanks. A few of my bettas have spawned, and I used to raise/breed them but no longer as school and work have forced all the needed time out of my scheduel, now they live a very laid back life. I enjoy aquatic pets more than mamals strangely as they are so dinamic and facinating. I hope to learn loads more while at this site as well as meet people who share a love for animals.

Hi Tam,

Welcome to the site.

Everything on your list sounds good.

Just make sure that there is no chance your axie can swallow any of the substrate you put in there.

Also, I can't remember why, but Tubifex aren't great as food. Live/frozen bloodworm and nightcrawlers are great though
happy.gif
espicially as a staple.

My axie wont touch dried shrimp pellets, but other's do.

Good luck
happy.gif