I got my axie!!!!!!

A

aimee

Hi everyone. I got my axie today!! He's the cutest thing ever and he seems to be settling into his new home quite nicely
happy.gif
I picked up some freeze dried brine shrimp and blood worms...is that a sufficient diet? I looked at the page where it talks about feeding: http://www.axolotl.org/feeding.htm but most of the foods mentioned are live foods. For the time being I'd like to stick with dry foods. Is this okay? The page also mentioned the pellets that Indiana University offers its axies. Can similar pellets be found in a local pet store? I also saw many random fish foods for bottom dwellers that sink to the bottom when I got him today...would these be bad for the little guy? Also, he's about 6 inches long...how old do you think he might be? lol I'm really new to this, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh yeah! I haven't been able to decide on a name yet...any suggestions? He's a gold albino with white flecking on his underbelly and tail. He's so cool!

Congrats on your new arrival!

Do you have any pictures?

I fed my axie Bloodworms every meal before I found this website. She seemed to do okay.

I now feed her red worms as a staple which she seems to enjoy much more, plus they aren't messy at all.

I guess its just personal preference...although does the freezing process lose nutrients?

Can't tell about the age cause they all grow at different rates - he can't be that old though at that size.

Don't think the pellets can be found anywhere except the uni.

Simba for the name
rofl.gif

hi everyone

i have just got an axie too. his name is sunny, i bet you can guess what colour he is, anyway i keep looking at axie pics and some of the axies are being held by their owners out of water. can they breathe out of water? they aren't salamanders and one was moving on some ones hand.