Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

How old is my Axi?

P

pamela

Hi,Im a Newbie. I got my wee axi just a week ago, can anyone tell me how old she might be. She is just 8cm.
Thankyou

C

claire

id say it is around 4 months or so old. but it could be much older or younger depending on its growth rate. its growth rate will depend on the amount of food fed and the temperature it has been kept at. will you be able to post pics of your axie in the gallery? we love to see pics of everyones axies :D

P

pamela

Hi Claire, she was 7cm a week and a half ago when i got her. The place i got her from was feeding her prawns, but i have put her on blood worms and daphnia, which she loves and would eat all day if i let her. she is very lively, and comical, hanging from her wee tree and climbing on her rocks. i will be putting her photo in the gallery soon. I have read a couple of posts on gravel type and i am a bit confused. I have small gravel, she did get a couple in her belly but passed them through no problem, so i have got her a bigger gravel type, but now im scared she might swallow the bigger piece and have problems. what kind of gravel would u recommend?
Pam and Amoxy.

A

anne-marie

I have gravel. Now I have to get rid of the gravel. It is a pain.
violent.gif

I have been swayed over to the side of sand in preference to gravel. I just have to find some. If you don't want sand, you could use any stones bigger that (I think) pea size - I think I read that at www.axolotl.org.

Oh and welcome! I think you are the first axy owner from Scotland I have seen on this forum.
happy.gif

C

claire