Just bought my first one

S

shelagh

Hi everybody

I am a school teacher and have just bought my first Axolotl (still can't spell it), to live in my lovely warm classroom during term time and my music room at home in the holidays.
lick.gif

I was originally going to buy some fish as I have discovered that children find it very difficult to listen to music without something to look at. However after a trip to our local aqua shop I fell in love.
love.gif

So the tanks set up, the filters buzzing merrily getting everything ready, and my baby is coming home on Friday.

Any tips, or anything vital I need to know as I am a real beginner

Many thanks

You've definitely come to the right place and might I add..THE best place on the net...

Welcome Shelagh Lee

There are a lot of topics down in the Axolotl section of the forum and definitely check out caudata.org's sister site:

http://axolotl.org

-Cynthia

Welcome Shelagh Lee, there are many people here that can definitely help you out!!!
happy.gif

Thanks everybody

I have already found the site really informative, and am really looking forward to collecting him on Friday. Gosh - it's almost as exciting as having a human child - and much cuter!
lol.gif

Hi Shelagh,

I just noted you said... 'to live in my lovely warm classroom' please note axies get very stressed kept at high temps. Just wanted to make sure you new this as we want your axie to live a very good life!

Good luck, and any pictures of your new friend would be great!

Wish my school let us have Axolotls in our music class!

you would be suprised at how hot room temperature really gets. I have the heat here set to 66 or so here in bellingham washington, but at my college the temperature sometimes is at 75 degrees or above, which might be too hot. So please read though http://www.axolotl.org/ John Clares site, it is quite thorough.

Hi Shelagh,