2 new axolotls

M

maggie

I'm a little new to this. I just got two axolotls yesterday. I bought them online from an educational supply company because no pet shops around here have them in the winter. They're about the same size. Sometimes one of them seems to try to bite the other, are they hungry? I tried giving them brine shrimp pellets but they are too hard for them to swallow. I'm going to buy some blood worms next. Is there a way to make them go to the surface to eat? They're warming up to me and don't hide but they spend most of their time sitting or slowly crawling on the bottom of the tank. Do they ever swim around like fish? Thanks!

Hi Maggie --

Congrats on the new axolotls and welcome to c.org! I got my first two (I have four now) from a biological supply company as well back in July and they're now about 8.5 inches apiece.

Anyway -- I would try frozen brine shrimp. It comes in cubes and you can get it from almost any pet store. When mine were tiny, I used the San Francisco Bay brand (http://www.sfbb.com) and they loved it. Generally, they don't come to the surface to eat, though it may be possible to train them, but I'm not 100% certain that works.

Yes, they do swim, but spend most of their time at the bottom of the tank.

Also - I see that you're in NY. As an afterthought, at the New York Metro Reptile Expo in White Plains, there's usually someone who sells axolotls. That's where I got my other two. The next one is January 14-15.

If you haven't already, check out http://axolotl.org (caudata.org's sister site devoted strictly to axolotls.)

Hope that helps and good luck!

Welcome maggie we look forward to you joining in the discussions and sharing your exeriances.