Bubbles?

Beck

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi - I hate to ask a stupid question, and I have read the posts on filters, oxygen etc..but...

My axie loves swimming to the surface and grabbing a great big bubble full of air. Then he (I think) spends the next 30 seconds turning sumersaults, floating around and generally acting like an adorable idiot. Then he eventually lets his air out and slowly sinks down to the surface. I don't think he is doing it because his water isn't sufficiently oxygenated, but of course I could be wrong, I am really new at this. He is in an 18" tank (his 4' one just arrived today) and he has a hollow log type thing to hide in, I have a 150l/hr filter behind the log so that it churns the water without effecting a strong current. His gills, which when I got him 3 weeks ago, were almost non-existent, are now looking looking long, and growing back really well. They don't face forward or anything, so I can only assume they are not being affected by too strong a current. I have 2 small plants in with him, which he seems to enjoy and he isn't rough with them.

Is he playing? Or am I depriving him of much needed oxygen?

Could be both. The plants would produce oxygen, but maybe not enough? Do you have an airstone or something? Airstones plus plants equals enough oxygen. He probably likes to swim around as well though. Sorry if i'm not making sense, but anyway hope this answers your question :D

Despite having gills, axolotls still have rudimentary lungs, which they will exercise from time to time. If his gills are growing back and look normal, I wouldn't worry about the occasional gulp of air.

Well axolotls (and other amphibians) breathe many ways.

one way is, obviously through the gills (Branchial respiration)
another, is through skin(Cutaneous respiration)
another way is through lungs (Pulmonic respiration)
and another is through throat area (buccopharyngeal)