Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Behaviour change

dk

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I moved my axie into her (well assuming its a her) new tank just yesterday and ive noticed some behavior changes. In her old tank she would swim every night, and sometimes during the day. But in her new tank she just likes to hide under her little rock cave. Is this normal?
Thanks

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Sure. She's a little nervous in her new house. She'll come out of her shell, so to speak. Just give her a few days to settle in.

dk

Reaction score
Thanks kaysie, i just get worried easily hehe. I just wanted to make sure, im new to axies and their behaviour. Very different to dogs lol.

layla

Reaction score
axys

hi there i changed my axys home about 3 weeks ago into a larger tank and at first she was really shy it took a while but once she got used to t she was back to her old self and i no what you mean about worrying as i do the same but there is no need just keep your eye on her and unless she gets really down in the gills she should be fine.

dk

Reaction score
Just a bit of an update from yesterday, my axie (Happy) has gotten more active. I bought her some feeder fish which she loves sneaking up on ^_^ She did just need time :p

peterj

Reaction score
How are the conditions in the new tank? Brighter lights or more dissolved oxygen might also make it less enticing/necessary for an axie to be out and about.

dk

Reaction score
Hi again,