Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Oh hi there, from NZ

Gordy

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Adam and I'm an 18 year old student from Wellington. I thought since I'm new I might as well make a thread.
I have three pets at the moment at my flat. I have a wooden enclosure (with guaze mesh on both sides) with a Australian bell frog which I've had for the last few months and a NZ common skink which i've had for the last 2 months. I feed the frog and the skink on flies. I have to hand feed the skink on partially frozen house flies with tweezers. (freeze them for 4 minutes and they come alive after a minute). They live together pretty happily and don't bother each other at all. Even the skink has a go in the water sometimes. I also have a 4 month old wild type axolotl named Speckled Jim. I'm sure he's retarded. All he does is swim to each end of the tank hitting his head against the glass.

I'll no doubt be on these forums for the rest of my life.

I will post pics when I can be bothered.

PS, here's a NZ common skink. Pretty small compared to the ones you can get in the states I imagine. NZ has very strict exotic pet laws. I'm planning to get a lizard license so I can keep Native geckos.

SkinkCopper.jpg

Bellabelloo

Julia
Staff member
Reaction score
Cute little guy, ( the skink!) .Jolly old England seem to have a serious shortage of reptiles in the wild, though I do enjoy admiring the ones we do have, they just seem to pale in comparison.

Bellabelloo

Julia
Staff member
Reaction score
yep, a few snakes, lizards ( used to play with slow worms as a kid) common frog and a couple of toads and newts, just every one elses seem so much more interesting!)

John

Founder
Staff member