Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Metabolic bone disease

Babidi

Reaction score
How do you treat MBD? My firebelly newt developed it about four months or so ago. He's adapted to his spinal kink very well and, unlike before, doesn't fall over anymore, and it doesn't seem to be affecting him negatively, but it still bothers me for him to have it.

I don't have access to any bait shops - only a generic pet shop, mealworms, and frozen bloodworms, the latter of which I've been feeding him as a staple for around six years now. Does MBD frequently result from a diet of frozen bloodworms and should I try to change up my paddletail's diet a bit so he doesn't get it as well?

To add, my firebelly has a kink in his spine and walks oddly, but he moves quite well for himself. He doesn't seem to be in any pain, eats like a pig, and has lived with me for around six to seven years now without any health issues but this.

Thanks.

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
MBD is incurable. Treatment includes calcium suppliments. A vet would be able to diagnose MBD and tell you the best method of treatment.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Right, even with treatment, a spinal kink resulting from MBD will never go away. You can find a lot of information online about MBD in reptiles, and you'll find this is well-established. If your newt is managing well, then I think you just have to accept the odd shape.

I do know people who feed their newts primarily frozen bloodworms long-term (where are you, Tim??). And they don't have obvious problems with MBD. But each animal has its own individual susceptibility.