Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello from South Africa

Alwyn

Reaction score
Good day everyone…

I’m so glad I stumbled upon this forum!! (Found it doing a search on Google).

I have two Cynops orientalis aka Fire Bellied newts. I bought them from a local pet shop about two weeks ago. They are really scarce in South Africa, well it is my first time stumbling upon an amphibian in a pet shop in the Western Cape so I had to buy them! :D

They are currently occupying a 5 gallon setup. I know the tank is very small, but they are still very young and only about 3.5 cm long, so this is just a temporary home till they get a bit bigger. Their favorite spot to sit is on a peace of driftwood covered in java moss that is not covered with water, the outlet from my HOB filter is keeping the moss nice and wet.

They don’t seem to be very interested in going into the water, I have read that this is typical behavior so I’m not very concerned… Or should I be!!? They are not very active, by active I mean swimming around or moving around allot, this I also hope is typical behavior.

When it is feeding time, every second day or so, I feed them earthworms that I ‘breed’ in my back yard in a small container. They don’t seem to be interested in frozen bloodworms, I have tried to feed them that, but with no success. Generally, if it moves, they will eat it, or well they will try to… :p

I’m still a newcomer to the hobby of keeping newt’s, so if I’m doing something wrong please point it out to me!! Any information would also be very useful, I have read the FAQ on this site and found it to be very informative!

Last edited:

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score