New Axolotl Tank

Zapher

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I am new to keeping Axolotl. Ive kept Chinese Firebelly Newts and Triturus Karelinii and have had my eye on axolotl's for a while. I have a 40 gallon tank that i want to use. On it there is a Eheim Canister filter that im going to install a flow control and spray bar. I read the website axolotl.org and have a pretty good idea on how to keep them but had a couple of questions.
  1. The room i would keep them in is kept at 70* F during the summer and drops to 55-65 in the winter. Is that too hot during the summer?
  2. I keep seeing tanks that are only partly full of water but i dont really know the reason for it. Is it okay to fill the tank all the way?
  3. How many full grown Axolotl can be housed in a 40 gallon breeder tank?
  4. I have a 30" fluorescent strip light on there so it is 6" shorter than the tank. I am thinking about keeping it on for 10-11 hours a day. Is that too much light?
  5. Are live plants like java fern, java moss, elodea, anubias and some other low light aquatic plants fine to put in the tank?
  6. Should i sand or round the edges on pieces of driftwood or rock?
Those are all the questions i can think of right now but chances are i will have more sooner or later. Just trying to get all the facts before i begin so that i can make as best a tank as possible for them.

70F is fine.

A full tank is fine if you have a lid to prevent them from jumping out. They do on occasion.

A 40 gallon breeder would easily house 4 adult axolotls.

You'll only need the light if you plan on growing plants. If you don't have live plants in the tank, you don't need the light at all.

All the plants you've listed are fine. Although you should note, axolotls LOVE to uproot plants. Most people plant them in pots and weigh them down with rocks.

If the edges are pointy or sharp, sanding them down would be appropriate.