Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Help! What is this?

bichera37

Reaction score
Hi...I wondering is anyone know what is this?:sad:

here you can see from the side of it's tail, is like a pimple?:confused:

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Since there are several of them, I would guess it's some kind of parasite. Note that this is just a guess, I'm no expert on medical issues. How long have you had the sal? And how long has it had these lumps? What kind of setup is the sal kept in?

bichera37

Reaction score
hi Jennewt

I just bought on wednesday and from a bait shop, I know wasn't a good idea..but I like them:D, actually I have two more in a aquaterrarium, they are fine, I got them in april, but I put this new guys in a 20 gallons tank to check them up for a couple of days and I had found this problem in four of five of them but for sure the one left have it too.:(

keithp

Reaction score
They sell salamanders as bait? I never knew that. They were probably kept in poor condition so parasites are a possibility.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
I agree, the poor conditions at the bait shop probably contributed.

In general, it's recommended to keep tiger sals in a terrarium setup. Keeping them in a semi-aquatic setup without soil may keep them alive, but it's not really a natural way for them to live in the long-term. See:
http://www.caudata.org/cc/species/Ambystoma/A_tigrinum.shtml

bichera37

Reaction score
Yeap...