Gills not grown

mzii

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Emma
Hi,
I am just a newbie to this site, but so far it has been very helpful!!
I was just wondering why my Axie's gills haven't grown yet?
She is Albino and named "Thumper". I have had her for about a month but I think she is around two months old. She is about 20cm long.
Apparently, she should have red gills growing but I see nada...
Help?

Hi,

if it really is an axolotls (got any pictures?) it should have had gills from the start. With 20 cm it would be older than 2 months; mine reach 20 cm with about 10 to 12 months.

Maybe you got another kind of salamander or a morphed axolotl (not very common)?

it would be really cool if you could post up a pic of it

maybe its metermorphisied? (like mine?)

Hi Emma.
I agree with Daniel that at 20 cm its close to being adult size , had it ever had gills while you have had it?. If the water conditions in the past ( or even now) have been poor it can effect the gills . Is the tank that it is in cycled and have you checked your ammonia/nitrite/ nitrate levels, if you don't yet have test kit ( single ones are by far the better in my opinion) many pet/ fish shops will happily test the water for you..just resist purchasing any chemicals that claim to remove ammonia etc. Let us know what the results are and we can take you through the next steps if neccessary.
Finally if your axolotl is golden with pale eyes ( mine had yellowish eyes) then this is albino, the white axolotl that have pink gills are refered to as being leucistic..I haven't yet quite understood why yet other than it tends to be the yellow form that lack pigmentation/colour rather than the white that can have freckles etc.!!

Wow!

Wow, I am just amazed at how many responses I got, and so quickly too! :)
I have attached pictures, but they are from my phone so are not the best quality unfortunately.