Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Fungus

myyumbrella

Reaction score
Hey,
One of my axolotls has fungus and i dont know what to do. She has had fungus before so i gave her a saltbath and it almost killed her, i'm not experienced at this and would rather not have to do that. I phoned up an aquarium shop and they said to put fungus ade in the water but fungus-ade contains malachite green and on the axolotl site(i think it was) it said that anything with malachite green in it is poisonous for axololtls? Please help!! :(

raccy87

Reaction score
Malachite green

Hi i have just lost an axie today from fungus so i dont know if i can help you, though i also was told to buy malachite green from the pet shop and came here and found it was poisinous, so i went to the pet store and they agreed that it was poisinous and that they had called the company and the company had told them to use a quarter of the malachite green. so i stopped using this product instantly and used the salt baths instead. i gave her, her last salt water bath this morning and i found her dead this afternoon im not sure what caused it but i have my suspicions that it was the malachite green and a mix of salt. i also wanted to ask you if you had previously cycled your tank as this may also cause the stress which may have caused your fungus problem hope you can find some help and fast it is really important.

on another note: try my thread for some more advice there is a fungus killer that some one had recommended

i was recommended from
Dietmar
(bukowsky) vbmenu_register("postmenu_129421", true);
Junior Member: