Snitz has damaged his gill, Help !!

pjsouth

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi,

I'm in some need for help :eek:( my poor axie has damaged his gill, not sure when and how it happen, think it my have been when i was moving home but i tried my best to be gently with him. The gills that has been damaged isn't bleeding or anything but has white fluffy stuff (look like it my be fungi) forming around it but i'm not really sure. It must hurt a bit cos when i try and touch it he gets a bit grumpy with me. I change 20-30% of his water every week so it is pretty clean.... any help with what to do would be great as i am new to axie's.

Hi

You'll need to do saltbaths twice a day until at least 5-7 days after the fungus has dropped off.

Saltbaths, are done for 10-15 mins maximum, no longer than that.
2-3 teaspoons of sea salt/tonic or aquarium salt/uniodised table salt per litre or 2 pints of dechlorinated water.

Use a plastic container, with lid, that will fit your axie lengthwise, ie 2l icecream container or other.

Put the dechlorinated water in the container, add the salt - stir to dissolve, or if using aquarium/tonic salts you may need to crush them if they're chunky and stir till they dissolve.

Add your axolotl, put a lid on it, so he doesn't take fright and jump. Set a timer for 10-15minutes so you don't forget.

When the saltbaths are finished he can be returned to the tank, if the temperature is below 20C. Higher temperatures will just add to his stress.

Now you have to eliminate what may have caused him/her to develop fungus, if there are no sharp edges in the tank or new companions (ie fish or other) that may have been added without quarantining for 30 days.

So what is your tankwater temperature and have you tested your water parameters - ie: for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Axolotls tend to develop fungus if they have a wound or if they have been stressed through water quality and water temperature or something else.