Out of water

Evan4963

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Evan Frederick bittner
I have been having trouble with one of my more plump paddletail newts. He is getting out of water for extensive amounts of time.:confused: Also, it seems that they are stuck. I want to help, but I dont want to hurt them. They seem to be able to wiggle out of anything.I'm new to this and hope for good help.

THANKS!

Last edited:
Maybe your water temp is too warm? Check pH Ammonia and Nitrites if you haven't already, I don't know alot about newts yet but that is usually the causes that I read about on the web. By the way, where did you get your paddle tails?

I got my paddle tails in the reptile department of a large aquarium depot.

thanks for the reply!:D:grin:

Hi Evan, I would second that suggestion to check your water parameters, as it is very unusual for a paddletail to spend much time out of the water. It sounds as though you have more than one paddletail, are you keeping a few in one tank? Paddletails are very territorial and aggressive, so it is possible that if they are living together, one paddletail will bully and torment the other until the subordinate seeks refuge out of the water. I highly recommend keeping paddletails in separate tanks, unless you have a very large tank with lots of hiding places and visual barriers. This is a species that can cause a lot of physical harm, and even death, to other newts (even members of the same species).

Lastly, what do you mean by "it seems that they are stuck"? We can try to offer more help if you can clarify this. And yes, most newts are pretty good escape artists and can "wiggle out of anything," so make sure you have secure, tight fitting lids!

Good luck with your newts, and please ask if there is anything else you need help with.
Heather