Identify My Invertebrate?

ziggypie

Axolotl Enthusiast
Reaction score
Country
United States
It's odd to say, but this looks like either some sort of Cestode, or a larval form of something much bigger than anything I have in the tank (save the Axolotls and the fake decor). I took this picture from a dissecting scope, I was silly and forgot to record the power, but I think it was between 10 and 20x (obviously no ocular power). If it helps, that blurb that you see next to it is an ostracod crustacean ~0.3 mm. Thank you!

Attachments

• MVI_42411.jpg
    MVI_42411.jpg
    110.5 KB · Views: 242
It's a worm, that's about all I can tell you. Perhaps a nematode? I'm afraid I'm not very good at the game of "name that invert". :cry:

May I use your photo for Caudata Culture? I'm assembling a page of photos of "tank critters", and this would fit right in. Please PM me and tell me what name the copyright credit should be to.

I'm fairly certain its not a Cestode. I assume thats the head on the photo which means it appears to lack a means of securing itself inside a host which is characteristic of most Cestodes. At a guess I'd say it was a small Annelid. Do you have a sand based substrate on the bottom? Is it possible for you to post a bigger picture of the whole organism as I could run it past my parasitology lecturers to see if they recognise it.

I was having fun taking more pictures, and so let's turn this into a game! I know most of my little friends (except for the worm you will see- as we obviously haven't gotten that one figured out yet, so keep at that one in the first post if you can, haha), but here we go!! ::booming game show voice:: "IDENTIFY MY INVERTEBRATES!" hehehe... And Jennewt, if you like these, too, then they are yours for the benefit of the forum! :)

I forgot to mention that these were all taken with a compound light microscope- under either scanning or low power!

Attachments

• IMG_4272.jpg
    IMG_4272.jpg
    62.1 KB · Views: 193
  • IMG_4285.jpg