Raising new born axies, what to expect, how to plan?

Turbosaurus

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all,
This is my first post. I have been keeping fish for 15 years. The last 5 or 6 breeding angels, keeping discus and; as of last count, 9 planted show tanks. I know the basics of what aquatic life needs to live, I understand TDS, GH, KH, pH and the relationship between them as well as the nitrogen cycle.

I know exactly squat about Axolotls yet find myself caring for 20 of these cute little buggers that hatched late last week. I am feeding microworms, bbs and grindal worms, depending on which culture is ready for harvest at any given moment.

I know the little guys are eating, because they have orange (or white) bellies. I have them in a low wide 2qt Tupperware container and I change about 80% of the water every morning. I am a little concerned that they just sit at the bottom of the box. The room is on average 68 degrees, the box is open and does not have a direct light source, so I would assume average water temp is somewhere around there.

QUESTION #1
Occasionally, if I use a finger to gently approach one they shoot away, only to come to rest again. They never seem to move. Is this sluggish behavior normal?

QUESTION #2
Once we determine if this is okay for now, when will I have to start planning on separating them- I have read about cannibalism in young axies- and how much space should I plan on for each?

QUESTION #3
I have a 20 long set up (30"x12"x12") that doesn't have any fish in it. Can I move them into this tank when they get a bit bigger? How much bigger? or would I be better served keeping them separated in smaller containers where it will be easier for them to catch their supper? The tank bottom is mostly sand, but does have a planted corner with aquarium gravel. Right now the gravel is bigger than the axies, at what size will I have to move them (or the gravel) if they do go in this tank?

QUESTION #4