Easiest newt to take care of for newbie??

krk11

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello Everyone,

Just wanted to ask a question. Which newt or newts are the easiest to care for? Which are the strongest? I'm new to newts and would like to start off with something strong to give me some confidence in raising them.

Thanks for the help!

:blob:

Well asking the questions before comming home with the newts is a very good start. Most newts, despite their fragile looking bodies, are fairly hardy when maintained properly. I pesonally recommend Cynops orientalis as a good beginner because they are fairly forgiving. T. granulosa is also a sturdy fellow but harder to come by.

So...... The trick is to read the care sheets for the species you choose and ask questions before brinigng the animal home. There are lots of folks here who will help you so please feel free to ask specific questions and remember the basics.

Newts like moisture and in many cases mostly water.
Newts can climb walls and should never be kept in a tank without a tight lid
Newts do not require strong lighting
Newts do not like warm, they like cool
Newts are not pets that can be handled with any regularity
Newts can live a long time and are not a 3 year pet. Plan on 15 years.
Plan on setting the tank up well before you add the newts. If you have no experience with the Nitrogen cycle you have some additional reading to do.

There is a ton of additional info on this site. Click the link in the banner for Caudate Culture and spend some time reading the caresheets and you will do fine. The more time you spend reading and discussing before you beging, the better you chances are at a worry free set-up with healthy beasts.