Looking for longicauda

KevinS

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm doing my thesis work on Eurycea l. longicauda but I'd only ever found a handful here in WV. Fortunately I have a few friends from Kentucky who are avid cavers and they took me to some great herping areas both above and below ground. It's been a while since we made our first trip out there, but I'm just now getting around to posting the pictures. In a few hours of searching I found 2 Pseudotriton ruber, more Plethodon kentucki than I cared to count, several Eurycea cirrigera, a few Desmognathus fuscus, and 6 E. l. longicauda.

This was the first longicauda we found in a cave, and probably the largest I've seen so far.
Carter.jpg

CC.jpg

That particular cave had an amazing abundance of Plethodon too. I think most were P. kentucki, but there may have been some glutinosus or other similar-looking species as well.
CaveCarter.jpg

P1010023.jpg

There were even cameo appearances by a few other amphibians in the caves.
P1010048.jpg

Later I found a pair of longicauda within inches of one another. I would've assumed they were courting, but the female didn't appear to be gravid so maybe they just happened to be in the same spot. You can see the male's cirri in this picture.
P1010054.jpg

After we re-surfaced I looked around a stream and a few trails briefly. That's when the Pseudotriton started turning up.
P1010232.jpg

P1010228.jpg

I've made a few trips to the area since then, but the only other species I've seen since the first trip is Gyrinophilus porphyriticus and I haven't uploaded those pics yet. I'll definitely be going back a lot in the spring when the longicauda start emerging again, but I may make another trip or two before then to see what I can still find.

Nice pictures, thanks for posting!

Wonderful photos and a great account. Thank you Kevin :).