Fish with Axolotls

Tommo

Reaction score
Country
Wales
Curious at to what, if any, types of fish are safe to keep with Axolotls. Just got my tank sorted (180ltr), and will be picking up my first Axolotl next week. I've heard its best not to keep any fish in the same tank, but was wondering if there are any that are suitable. I'm new to this, so excuse my ignorance on the subject.

I dont reccommend putting your Axolotls in with anything other than Cardina Multidenta or Large Apples snails.
Most fish will either nibbles at your axolotls rami(the fluffy red bits) or end up in your axolotls mouth. (Which happens to be rather big)
Plecs also may seem like a good idea, being armour plated, but they can give some nasty injuries to your axolotls.

As I said, Cardina Multidenta(Ghost/Amano Shrimp) are good tank cleaners if you want them in your tank, they are usually fine with your axolotl and I have kept them with mine for a few months, and it has been succesffu.
Apples snails are also fine, if you get rather large ones, bigger than the axolotls head though or it'll end up eaten.

I posted this someplace else aswell :)

Sorry, i should have had l good look about before asking. Thanks for the help.

Hi Tommo

Following is a link showing mixing disasters with certain types of fish and other companions http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/Mixing_disasters.shtml#id26 .

You also have to be aware of the needs of the fish (as well as axolotl) - some tend to try and mix tropicals with axolotls (different temperature needs). Goldfish will nibble gills; fish also tend to excrete loads adding to bioload of tank. Some have used white clouds.

Have a search round the forum!