Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

In planning, need HELP.

kianie

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to Axolotls and plan to buy two in a couple of months of time.

So right now I'm planning, as I am the type of person who loves planning these types of things.

I will be getting a tank off my boyfriends parents in a couple of weeks time and want to start setting up for my axolotls then so I do not have to re-cylce it.

TANK = 92cm X 34 cm X 42cm.
FILTER = Aqua One Canister Fillter CF- 1000

The thing is I want to do A LOT of changing to the current tanks set up.

This means removing the pebbles off the bottom (too small) and replacing it will sand and larger rocks and pebbles.

Growing plants like Java Fern, Java Moss and Anubias. More suggestions would be great.

In terms of a hidey-places would I need two? And what could I use?

Would the aqua fertiliser and such hurt my Axies? Because I'm fine with not using it if it could harm them.

I plan to tie the plants down to large-ish rocks and drift wood and maybe weight them down with more rocks :D

On a final note would these changes disrupt the biological filtration in any way and should there be a certain time period for each thing?

Also looking for breeders in my area, as I want to raise them from an early age.

Thanks a Bunch if you guys can help :D

P.S Any Sydney-siders have some off cuts of plants they don't need? ;)

ianclick

Reaction score
Hi Kianie,

Good to here you are planning first and welcome to the site. Have a look at www.axolotl.org it has heaps of info on all things axie related.