Morphing or De-Gilled?

Tal

Reaction score
Country
Australia
I got a luecistic axolotl today from a local pet store and am wondering if it is part way into morphing. It has pretty much no gills what to speak of but it was housed with goldfish so it may have had them bitten off. It has almost no fin along its tail and not much more than a line that shows where it was on its back. It is also really skinny almost like it was starved. I offered it some beef heart which is what the pet store said they fed them and it wouldn't eat. Unfortunately I am unable to get a picture today as it is settling into its new home. I'll try for one asap though. To me it doesn't look quite right feature wise for an axolotl but then I am a novice:rolleyes:

Is there any where I can see pictures of the stages they go through when morping to a terrestrial form? It might make it easier for me to work out what is going on.

I managed to get a couple of pictures. For some reason they seem to have come out blue :confused: I think its because of the aquarium light. Hopefully these will help.

Attachments

• DSC00189.JPG
    DSC00189.JPG
    371.5 KB · Views: 199
  • DSC00191.JPG
    DSC00191.JPG
    390 KB · Views: 215
  • DSC00192.jpg
    DSC00192.jpg
    310.7 KB · Views: 179
Axolotl looks like it's about to die. It's definitely on its way out. It's unlikely it'll survive unless you can get it to eat something. Some people here have experience with force-feeding but it might have other problems. I don't think I've ever seen one in that bad a condition. If I lived there I'd go to town on the people in that petshop.

I agree with John. I hope you did'nt spend too much on it. That poor guy looks like it's on his last leg.

Put it in the fridge it might help? Also might want to try some live food Maybe cut a worm into some small pices easier for him to eat. Mine also love frozen blood worms defrost them in some water first. Hope this helps some how. Let us know how it goes.