woohoo

DantezGirl

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand-Maori
Display Name
DantezGirl
as we speak midnight is laying eggs and i got to see one being layed yeya her and spot are still in the main tank together with the cover on to give her some privacy i plan to keep ten this is my first time and hers as well with me not sure if she had eggs with previous owner

the nursery tank is ready with air stone and filter i am going to put the plants and any rocks in there until the eggs hatch then remove most but keep a few for cover ect i have to go and get some daphnia outside in a few day ready for the hatch-lings

as i don't want to disturb her to much cant look and see what i have yet i know how to tell the wild type eggs based on pics from here any one know when or how i can tell if i have albino or leusistic larvae mum wild dad leusistic so i doubt albino but you never know

as i don't want to disturb her to much cant look and see what i have yet i know how to tell the wild type eggs based on pics from here any one know when or how i can tell if i have albino or leusistic larvae mum wild dad leusistic so i doubt albino but you never know

Eggs laid by wild-type, melanoid, and leucistic females all look identical when they're first laid. If the female is an albino, then the eggs are white. The color of the egg has nothing to do with the color of the larvae. You'll probably get about 50-100% wild-type offspring. Wild-type is a dominant gene, if the mother is carrying the gene for leucistic then whatever offspring aren't wild-type could be leucistic. If both the mother and father are albino recessive, then they could produce albino offspring. The best way to tell is to just wait until about a week after they hatch and you should have a pretty good idea as to what color morphs you have in this batch. If you still have troubles at that point, then post close up pictures of the larvae and someone on here should be able to tell you what they are.

Good luck raising them!