sex, shrimp, cycling and pet store holocaust

Aristotle

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Tom
Hi, i'm new to this whole axolotl thing, and spent a long while reading through this forum before i invested in my new buddy Aristotle. He's great and has been keeping me company, and is in much better health than when I first purchased him. The store had not only bad gravel, but also badly diseased axolotls and in fact a dead one floating around in the tank. Very sad. I am considering notifying the RSPCA.

Anyway, on a lighter note, Aristotle is doing well, and I just had a few questions about him.

Firstly, can anyone work out his age, sex and colour from the images? The store said he was 16 months old, but i'm fairly certain they had no idea. He's about 4-5 inches long. Is he white or albino, is there a difference? As for sex, i don't see much of a lump, so hopefully he's a male?

I am also interested in purchasing a little friend whom I shall name Cornelius to hang out with him. I have heard horror stories about feeder fish, so i assume that's not a great idea. But what about putting a shrimp (Caridina multidentata) in with him? He can chase it around and stuff, anyone have any thoughts on shrimp?

The other issue I have is cycling. The testing kits are way out of my budget at this stage. I managed to get my whole setup, axolotl included for under $100 (if anyone in melbourne wants some tips on where to get aquarium stuff cheap, i can point you in the right direction). I have no idea what the ammonia and nitrite levels are, and thus have been doing water changes and cleaning operations on a daily basis. Still the water is somewhat murky, but Aristotle appears to be doing fine. If he is suffering from too much ammonia/nitrite will he just suddenly keel over and die, or will there be warning signs, infections etc.?