Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

help! my axie hasnt eaten for days!

haylz

Reaction score
Hey all - newbie to the site here.

My axie seems to have an appetite (he 'begs' for food), but cant keep anything down. he coughs everything back up. he hasnt eaten properly for a few days now, and i'm getting really worried. does anyone know what's wrong with him and what i can do?:confused:

he has just recovered from bloating. could that have anything to do with it?

thanx
haylz

sheila robinson

Reaction score
I am only pretty new to this but I have learnt a lot from having a very sick Axi. and reading the info on this site. Water temp is very important. Your tank should be about 19deg. I have a chiller but still have to float ice some days. I have had him in the fridge in an iceream tub while I have been doing stuff to his tank.
Also your tank has to be clean, no uneaten food or poos in the water. PH level is another thing to check. My axi stopped eating and became so emancipated he was almost clear. Keep reading all the stuff on this site, it will help you to work things out. Good luck

haylz

Reaction score
i had large pebbles (more than 2cm diameter) in the bottom of the tank, but took them out for cleaning. since he got sick, i havent put them back in, so at the moment, there's nothing at the bottom of the tank. i feed him mostly beef mince. sometimes i feed him beef heart or axi pellets, but he prefers the mince and sometimes completely refuses anything else.

kapo

Reaction score