stressed axie?

haylz

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi! I'm new to caring for axolotls and i think i need some help.

It seems my axolotl's skin has started to flake off/turn whitish (he's black). Is this a sign of stress?

Also, I am having trouble keeping the water temp down. I'm currently floating frozen water bottles in the tank, but it doesn't seem to be enough. Right now the temp's at 22C - I know this is bad. What can I do?

Some axolotls lose their skin but it can be a sign of stress if your axie's skin is flaking or getting patches of white. What are the white patches like? Slimy or cottony? As you have temperature problems it could be from the stress of this. If you can't keep your temperatures down, is it possible for you to house your axolotl in the fridge until the temperature is ok?

Also what are your other tank parameters? Ammonia/nitrate/nitrite/ph?