Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axies and Algae eaters?

Tasharawiri

Reaction score
Hi there everyone in Axie-land...

I am a very newbie here, and have only had our dear axolotls for about a month, so still sussing things out. I have recently noticed a LOT of algae on the side of our big axie tank. We have a pair of axolotls in there - Charlotte and Albert. :D

In the fish tank we combat this with algae eaters. Will the axies eat these if we put large ones in the axie tank? They are quite big for what I have seen of axolotls.... Would rather they didn't eat my husband's algae eaters -:lick: haha. I have one of those magnetic tank scrubber thingys but am doing this every other day - it just grows back... is this normal??

Thanks in advance! :eek:

Saspotato

Reaction score
What type of algae eaters do you use? Many people I know use catfish, which should never be kept with axolotls due to the their protective spines. If an axolotl eats them, it can kill your axolotl as the fish becomes lodged in its throat. Anyway, most people do not recommend keeping any fish with axolotls (that you don't intend to be food) as if the fish is too small your axolotl will probably eat it and if the fish is too big it will either harrass and stress out your axolotl or otherwise, your axolotl may still try to eat it and get the fish stuck in its throat. (eg http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/Mixing_disasters.shtml)