Feeding!

sichbo1

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am new to leaving messages, although have been a member for a short while.

My one concern is feeding axies live food. Lots of people seem to do this, and I have bought mine shrimps on occasion, but I much prefer to feed mine pellets which they love! Is it really necessary to feed axies other live animals such as fish and worms? I really like axolotls as I am an animal lover and they make great interesting pets, but fish and worms are nice too! I think they demand as much respect. I particularly don't like to hear of people cutting up worms before feeding.

I know some might say it's more natural but nature does not exist in captivity. If live worms are to be used maybe smaller whole ones would be kinder.

I am just interested in other peoplels opinions on this subject and really don't wish to judge.

I look forward to your views.

I think that if you are going to make the point that fish and worms deserve the same respect as axolotls, you can't then go onto say that smaller worms would be kinder :p Why don't small worms deserve the same respect as big worms? :D

However, to each their own and you are certainly not required to feed live food if you are uncomfortable with it. Other than pellets you can also use frozen cubes of brine shrimp and blood worms. What kinds of pellets are you using? Axolotls are carnivorous so they will require meat of some form.

I do use live fish as I don't see any ethical reason not to even though it is not necessary to use live food, he is a carnivore and would probably eat live guppies in the wild if there were some around. But yea, I wouldn't expect someone to use fish if they find it morally objectionable like you.