Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Jefferson Salamander

Salamander123

Reaction score
Thank you. Any other tips are helpful i'm new to this whole salamander raising thing just want to get it right. I also hear that they like to dig how much room should i leave for it to dig? Thanks

Salamander123

Reaction score
Should my Jefferson Salamander be in complete water. I have no water in my tank now just moss and bark and other moist things. He seems to like it but wondering if it should be filled with water

flyangler18

Reaction score
Ambystomids are poor swimmers and lead entirely fossorial existences as adults. If you want to introduce some water, a small water dish will do.

Salamander123

Reaction score
Thank you, maybe i will introduce some water but i like it how it is. I might think about adding more Moss and other things so he can dig. Thanks again..any tips appreciated

Salamander123

Reaction score
This is worrying me. I have peat moss in my tank and it said that it can cause ion loss and eventually death, is this true? Its all natural from the stream i found him from

flyangler18

Reaction score
I have peat moss in my tank and it said that it can cause ion loss and eventually death, is this true?

Yes, definitely true. Avoid acidic substrates- pH neutral substrates are ideal (organic top soil, coco fiber, etc.) I use 50/50 coco fiber and leaf litter/humus for all my salamanders.

pete

Reaction score