I'm almost afraid to ask....

Jacquie

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Country
Australia
Lamb Kidney? :eek:

I remember reading this was acceptable feeding for axies in the biology section of my high school (I'm sorry, I cant remember where it was written or who by as it was when I first had axies 16 or so years ago).

I've been feeding my present axies on this for the past four years with no detrimental effect that I can see anyway...ie. they gulp it down like there is no tomorrow, they are nicely plump but not fat, they are active, they are happy.

I'm sorry, but I cant bring myself to feed them earth worms...poor worms! No one deserves to die like that :wacko:

I've started giving them bloodworms for variety and have been looking for the famous salmon pellots to no avail...I am in Melbourne Australia.

I've looked through the forum, kidney info sites and I cant count how many other reference sites, if anyone knows for a fact that kidney is damageing to axies health however I will...try...worm...I just wont look!

Any thoughts? Cheers J

Once you try an earthworm you will be glad you did. The axies love them. Especially nice wriggly ones. My 2 usually gulp them down in one go and I'm talking big worms. I used to cut them in half but they are managing fine with keeping them whole. Don't worry you don't see anything nasty, the worm is gone before it knows whats hit it.

Because you don't see the lamb suffering doesn't mean it didn't suffer at all. It is not a question of 'deserving to die' for the worm in question, it's taking responsibility as a pet owner and providing it with food that resembles it's natural diet as close as possible. Lambs, or any mammals for that matter, don't fit in that diet.

For me its a similar process to feeding my human brood. Its a balancing act between maintaining a healthy balanced nutritional diet and feeding them what they like. I have Brocolli eaters and haters.