Please Help Warty newt!!!!

wildsky

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I recently rescued a pair of Hong Kong Warty Newts from this really lousy pet shop a few miles from where I live. This shop is really bad with dead and deiseased fish in the tanks, and both fish and amphibians incorrectly labeled. (The Warties were labeled as fire bellied newts.) The female died within a few days and the male Gavin seems to be suffering from mouth rot. His temps are fine, water ph is neutral and nitrite is zero and he is feeding but he is slowly getting worse. I have seen 5 t0 10 minute baths in a stong solution of Interpet fugus and finrot fish treatment recomended and also tea and salt baths recomended but a scared to try these in case they kill him as I have never used them before and dont know the correct concentration or duration for the salt baths.
Please help me I really dont want him to die he is such a sweetie despite all he has been through, any advice would be really welcome.

I suggest using the chemicals as a last resort, particularly as they are formulated for fish not amphibians.
Half a tea spoon of pure salt(sea salt or similar, table salt istreated with agents to stop it sticking together) in a pint of warm aged tap water works for me.

why on earth do you do a 'rescue' in such a shop?

Don't you understand dat the moment you buy the animals, other animals are already shipped towards the shop?
when you buy animals, you stimulate the market. The best solution for such animals is to let them die in the shop. When nobody buys them, there is no market for them.

Hi wildsky,

I would strongly recommend getting him to vet - if there is a severe mouth infection and it's getting worse despite improved conditions, then appropriate antimicrobials are probably the only thing with a reasonable chance of helping him. You will need to get them from a vet, who will also be able to take samples to identify any pathogens so that the appropriate treatment can be adminsitered.