Is this normal for axies im new to them

bottbeck

Reaction score
Country
Australia
We have had misty(axolotl) for about 1 1/2 weeks. And some treads say there not very active and other threads say some are so here is what misty is doing

she will stay at the bottom of the tank like she is sleeping or slowly just moving around all threw the day

But at night she will come up and swim around her tank all night
We have a filter that blows heaps of little air bubbles in her tank and quit often i see her swiming at the top of the tank catching them.
do they upset her or do they just like catching bubbles(she seems to like the bubbles better then the water flow of the spray bar)

She also likes to try to get on top of our filter

is this normal for them to swim about so much at night and sleep threw the day or are we doing something wrong and when she wakes shes trying to get to the surface for air?

so in short is it normal for axolotls to be active at times of the day?
can bubbles upset them? or can u have to much comming in to the tank?
and does she look sick or healthy?

well her are some pics of our tank and misty thank you to all that hlp :)
ohhh and the pet store gave us frozen blood worms and some type of beef squars. they told us only to feed her every 2nd day and the beef 1 a week coz its to fatty but from the threads here her body should b bigger than her head so is it ok to give her a little more beef as she seems to only like that to the worms?

We only had the light on to get some pics its usually a dull light in the room from the hall

Attachments

• Picture 440.jpg
    Picture 440.jpg
    111.1 KB · Views: 232
  • Picture 441.jpg
    Picture 441.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 209
  • Picture 445.jpg
    Picture 445.jpg
    97.8 KB · Views: 203
  • Picture 444.jpg
    Picture 444.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 230
  • Picture 436.jpg
    Picture 436.jpg
    90.9 KB · Views: 216