Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello/Hola/Konnichiwa

Jaxie11

Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to the Axolotl world and intend to purchase some as pets this summer. This account is shared between my boyfriend and I since we will be housing the (hopefully two) Axolotls we acquire this summer together.

From the US, we both speak English and a good bit of Spanish if need be. I'm also an intermediate to advanced level Japanese student so feel free to drop me a note!

Any suggestions on what age of Axie to get for two beginners is appreciated. We're thinking of getting a golden and melanoid pair to start off with though preferably of the same sex since we're not up to breeding anytime soon.

Anyways, hello Caudata!

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Hi Guys! Welcome to the board! Have you checked out www.axolotl.org yet? That's a good place to start.

Any age is good, although beginners should aim for something at least a couple of inches long. And good on you for not wanting to jump right into breeding! So many beginners try to dive right into breeding without even knowing the basics of care.

bottbeck

Reaction score
hi guys and welcome to axie's

me and my wife are new to them two. But u have come to the right place the people here are briliant they have alot of knowalge and always help they have helped us change our setup a heap i thing i can safley say

DO NOT LISTEN TO YOUR PET STORE FOR AXOLOTL ADVICE!!!
always come here the pet shop we yoused gave us the wrong gravel and care advice but luckely these guys gave us the right advice so listen to them

apart from that good luck hope to see ya again

Jaxie11

Reaction score