Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Beginner

lilacdragon7

Reaction score
Hello. Newt beginner here.

I dated a guy who had a Japanese fire belly newt, Nubs. He got his name because of his nubs for fingers. /snicker. He had a beautiful 50 gallon he did nothing with. After attempting plants and a few crabs, all but good ol' Numbs died. He left it desolate and empty. :(

Well, we have since split and I have come away with a passion for the creatures. I have begun my set up; 20 gal. tall, under gravel filter, large, soft gravel as substrate, a perfect, fair sized water log and a thermometer. The water is in the tank, the filter is running, (after a few set backs, which lead me to saw the tubing and lower the carbon filter. It didn't seem to work till it was submerged.) the water log is ... being a water log, and I got the gravel in there. That's the start. My first question, is a simple carbon filter enough to keep 3 newts and 3 ghost shrimp happy and clean? I have a water siphon which will come in handy with the water changing, also to clean the gravel a little more thoroughly.

I also plan to get some plants. I'm definitely going to get some Anubias and Java Moss, but I was also gonna attempt three shoots of Lucky Bamboo. I know it's not naturally aquatic, but I'm thinking if I build up a bit of substrate so the lucky bamboo is standing in only an inch of the water, maybe I'll be able to pull it off. I also REALLY want to get some floating lilies for the newts to rest on. My second question, what kind of lighting should I be looking for. I know it's possible to burn newts, but I know a low watt florescent light should be alright, I'm just wondering how much?