Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Another newbie here!

Kerry1968

Reaction score
Hello, I have just posted in the 'introductions' board but this is the board that really suits me! I have been reading the other posts on here and some of the questions I had about keeping axolotls have already been answered, thank you! I am hoping to be the proud owner of two axolotls this time tomorrow, but I have lots of queries before I bring them home.

I am confused by all the information I have read on various other websites. I have a filter that has already been used for fish for a few months, so I'm assuming the essential bacteria will be present in it. I have removed the gravel from my tank, but one website said to use sand, one gravel and one pebbles. If I wanted to use sand, childrens play sand, or 'bought from a pet store' sand? Also some say use natural oxygenating plants, some artificial plants, some no plants. I also have a large piece of bogwood which I had in the tank with my fish, would this be safe to use in the axolotl tank? I've also got a 'rock' ornament with plastic plants attached, safe or not safe? Also natural, but dried 'fern-like' coloured plants, safe or not safe? Water depth - some say only the depth of the length of your axolotl, so for babies I assume this would only be a couple of inches.

I'm so sorry about the long list of questions! I just want everything to be right!

I'm so confused! Please can you help? Within 24 hours if possible so that I can pick up the axolotls tomorrow and get them settled in their new home, knowing that I am creating the right environment for them. Thank you, Kerry

Kal El

Reaction score
Hello Kerry1968,